Week 4

week 4

Bankroll after week 4: £833.19

It was a very frustrating weekend. Friday went great, but I had to finish my last session early because of a problem at home. This left me with 5800 hands to play on Saturday, but I had other commitments in the early afternoon so I had to start late anyway. I felt the pressure of having to put too many hands in and played my C game, and I’m still so annoyed that I can only just bring myself to post about it now! I managed to quit after 1500 hands but the damage was done.

I managed to win 5/6 Spin and Gos to turn my $7 of deposit bonus tickets (and $1 ticket for playing 10 ring game hands…) into $16. It seems crazy that I can run that well in them and only make $9, don’t think I’ll be making the switch any time soon.

Here are my sessions to date anyway

Sessions to week 4

I’m trying to figure out ways to improve my mental game. I’ve written a little program that bugs me after a certain interval and asks me to rate my play. If I rate myself poorly, it will reduce the waiting interval and then ask again. If I rate my play as good, the interval is increased. If the interval becomes too small, it tells me to reduce the number of tables and gives me some helpful advice. Even smaller and it tells me to give up for a while. It’s a really ugly program but hopefully it will do the job. I’ll give it a test run next week.

Another way I want to improve my mental game is noting tilt trigger points. So, starting with the most tilt inducing:

  • Feeling annoyed about how I played a hand (this is the biggest trigger by far)
  • Playing while not feeling well
  • Running badly against fish
  • Running badly against regs
  • Feeling under pressure to hit a target

As long as I feel happy with how I played my mental game is usually pretty strong. Once I start to make a few mistakes, I have to make sure I don’t compound them by letting my mistakes get to me.

Hands

Villain was playing 23/18 over 50 hands, so probably some kind of regfish judging by stack size. I bet flop thinking that I would happily barrel any A, K, Q, or diamond, and I should have a fair bit of fold equity even with this small-ish bet. Turn, I probably could have bet a little stronger to discourage what happened….

Poker Stars $0.10/$0.25 No Limit Hold’em – 7 players – View hand 2592768

DeucesCracked Poker Videos Hand History Converter

CO: $15.50

BTN: $25.73

Hero (SB): $25.10

BB: $20.35

UTG: $21.15

UTG+1: $27.84

MP: $29.89

Pre Flop: ($0.35) Hero is SB with Q of diamonds K of diamonds

3 folds, CO raises to $0.75, 1 fold, Hero raises to $2, 1 fold, CO calls $1.25

Flop: ($4.25) 3 of spades 6 of hearts 2 of diamonds (2 players)

Hero bets $1.80, CO calls $1.80

Turn: ($7.85) 5 of diamonds (2 players)

Hero bets $3.50, CO raises to $11.70 all in, Hero calls $8.20

River: ($31.25) J of spades (2 players – 1 is all in)

Final Pot: $31.25

CO shows A of hearts J of clubs (a pair of Jacks)

Hero shows Q of diamonds K of diamonds (high card King)

CO wins $29.84

(Rake: $1.41)

Leave a comment